Radio Academy’s new 30 under 30 revealed

The second annual 30 under 30 list has been announced by Radio Academy, and include six repeat appointments from the inaugural list.

The 30 were chosen from more than 200 applicants by a panel of independent judges, honoured for going the extra mile and achieving exceptional results during the past 12 months.

The list includes 16 young people from commercial radio, including six from Global Radio and five from Bauer Radio, and 10 from the BBC, as well as four from independent production companies.

The final 30 work across a wide range of roles within radio: 14 from production, three from management, four from within a technical environment, as well as sales, news and sport, and presenting. Women are well represented, accounting for 33% of the list.

Paul Robinson, Chair of the Committee, said: “UK radio is brimming with talented people – hard working, smart, passionate young radio achievers help make our listening experience in this country so compelling, and The Radio Academy’s 30 Under 30 is proud to shout that from the rooftops. This year the number of applicants is up almost 50% on last year so, on behalf of the 30 Under 30 team, we are proud and honoured to announce this brilliant class of 2012. Congratulations to all of them!”

The 30 Under 30 for 2012 are:

Graham Albans – BBC Radio 2
Matt Bailey – Capital North East
Emma Barnett – LBC
Sam Bonham – DRUK/BBC Bristol
Fred Bradley – Smooth Radio
Andy Buckingham – Global Radio
James Carpenter – BBC Radio 2 & 6 Music / Key 103
Ann Charles – BBC
Laura-May Coope – BBC Radio 1
Heather Davies – Unusual Productions
Ben Day – Quidem Quidem
Paul Fernley – The Hits Radio, heat radio & SmashHits Radio
Joe Friel – Fun Kids
Katherine Godfrey – Whistledown
Gareth Gwynn – BBC Wales/Comedy
Joe Haddow – BBC Radio 2
Sam Jackson – Classic FM
Carly Lucas – Absolute Radio Absolute Radio
Lucy Madge – Somethin’ Else
Gaynor Marshall – Metro Radio
Dave Masterman – Xfm
Chris Nicoll – Capital FM Network
Gav Richards – G-Media
Sara Sesardic – Wise Buddah
Paul Sheehan – BBC 6 Music
Mike Tighe – BBC Radio 4
David Treasurer – Real Radio Scotland
David Walker – Moray Firth Radio
Michael Williams – BBC Radio 5 live
Katy Winterschladen – Radio Aire

The independent judging committee were:

Paul Robinson (Chair) – President of International, A Squared Elxsi and Principal, PR Media Consulting
Lorna Clarke – Network Manager, BBC Radio 2 & 6 Music
James Cridland – Managing Director, Media UK
Matt Deegan – Creative Director, Folder Media
Lisa Kerr – Founder, Lisa Kerr Media & Communications Consultancy
Karen Pearson – Director, Folded Wing

Pictures of all those who have been selected are now online at The Radio Academy website.

Posted on Tuesday, November 13th, 2012 at 10:00 am by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories