Asian stations battle for Station of the Year

BBC Asian Network, Sabras Radio, Sunrise Radio and Lyca Radio 1458 are shortlisted as Station of the Year in the Asian Media Awards 2015.

The national event also gives out awards for Regional Station of the Year, Presenter of the Year and Best Radio Show. In the Best Radio Show category, four shows on BBC Asian Network (Bobby Friction, Noreen Khan, Panjabi Hit Squad and Tommy Sandhu) are up against Sunny and Shay on BBC Radio London 94.9.

Some radio stations are also shortlisted in other categories such as Regional Journalist of the Year and Best Live Event.

Winners will be announced at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Thursday 29 October.

The University of Salford is premier sponsors and partners to the event include ITV, MediaCom & Press Association Training.

Here’s the full list of all the finalists:

Radio Station of the Year

BBC Asian Network

Sabras Radio

Sunrise Radio

Lyca Radio 1458

Regional Radio Station of the Year

Asian Sound Radio

Asian Star Radio

Sabras Radio

Sunrise Yorkshire

Unity 101 Community Radio

Radio Presenter of the Year

Anita Anand

Anushka Arora

DJ Neev


Yasmeen Khan

Best Radio Show

Bobby Friction on BBC Asian Network

Noreen Khan on BBC Asian Network

Panjabi Hit Squad on BBC Asian Network

Tommy Sandhu on BBC Asian Network

Sunny and Shay on BBC London 94.9

Journalist of the Year

Kavita Puri (Deputy Editor, BBC TV Current Affairs)

Secunder Kermani (Reporter, BBC Newsnight)

Dipesh Gadher, (Chief Investigative Reporter, The Sunday Times)

Dharmesh Sheth (Reporter, Sky Sports)

Nelufar Hedayat (Journalist, Channel Four)

Shabnam Mahmood (Senior Broadcast Journalist, BBC Asian Network)

Best Investigation

Exposure – Jihad: A British Story (ITV News)

India’s Daughter: A film by Leslee Udwin

Muslim Drag Queens (Kieran Yates for the Guardian)

Pakistan’s Hidden Shame (Clover Films for Channel 4)

Revenge Porn (BBC Newsnight)

Unreported World: Vaccination Wars (Quicksilver Media for Channel 4)

Regional Journalist of the Year

Arif Ansari (BBC North West)

Emb Hashmi (BBC Radio Derby)

Aasma Day (Lancashire Evening Post)

Ibrahim Rahman

Sangeeta Bhabra, (ITV Meridian)

Outstanding Young Journalist

Siraj Datoo, Political Reporter, Buzzfeed

Dalmeet Singh Chawla, Science Journalist

Joty Chopra, Writer & reporter

Kiran Kaur (Reporter and Newsreader, KM Group)

Chayya Syal, Writer & blogger

TV Report of the Year

Autism in the South Asian Community (ITV News Central)

Fake Healers (BBC East Midlands)

Slave Wives (BBC Newsnight)

Tackling Extremism (ITV News Central)

The Honour Code (BBC Asian Network)

Publication of the year

Asian Express

Eastern Eye

Gujarat Samachar

The Asian Today

The Muslim News

Best Website

Asian Culture


Best Blog

Amena Beauty

British Asian Podcast

Kaushal Beauty

The Chatterjis

Best TV Character

Pasha Bocarie (Rakesh, Emmerdale)

Sair Khan (Alya Nazir, Coronation Street)

Nikesh Patel (Aafrin Dalal, Indian Summers)

Rakhee Thakrar, (Shabnam Masood, Eastenders)

TV Channel of the Year

Hum TV Europe

Star Plus

Zee TV

Best TV Show

Desi Rascals (Sky TV)

Desi Beat (Colors TV)

Mulaqat with Sukhi Bart (Brit Asia TV)

TV Presenter of the year

Natasha Asghar

Sukhi Bart

Momtaz Begum-Hossain

Asad Shan

Best Live Event

Alchemy 2015 (The Southbank Centre)

BBC Proms (Late Night with the BBC Asian Network)

Diwali Lights Switch-On (Leicester City Council)

Best Stage Production

Behind the Beautiful Forevers

Bend it Like Beckham: The Musical

East is East

Happy Birthday Sunita (Rifco Arts)

The Infidel – The Musical

Media Agency of the Year

Curzon PR

Ethnic Reach

Media Moguls

Here & Now 365

Sterling Media

Media Professional of the Year

Farzana Baduel

Natasha Mudhar

Anjna Raheja

Puja Vedi

Posted on Monday, October 5th, 2015 at 3:11 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories