Nominations out for the IRN Awards 2016

The nominations for the 2016 IRN Awards in association with Sky News have been revealed.

This year sees the return of the Student Journalist of the Year category which has been supported by the BJTC bringing the total number of Awards up for grabs to eleven.

The winners will be announced on Thursday 10th March 2016 at the Century Club in London where the ceremony will be hosted by Sky News and Sky Sports presenter Sarah-Jane Mee. The judges will also honour an individual with the Gold Award which recognises an outstanding contribution to the commercial radio industry.

The nominees are:


Newcomer of the Year

Ella Griffith – Global’s Newsroom Yorkshire

Charlotte Wright – LBC

Rachael Venables – Global’s Newsroom East


Best Entertainment Coverage

Global’s Entertainment Team

Bauer Media Entertainment Hub


Best Sports Coverage

Wish FM Sport – 102.4 Wish FM

Tour De Yorkshire – Radio Yorkshire

Euro 2016: The Rise of the Dragon – Global’s Newsroom Wales


Best News Special or Feature

VPFA56: The Valley Parade Fire 30 Years On – Pulse 1 and Pulse 2

Police Custody Under the Mental Health Act: My Experiences – Stray FM

harmLESS – Key 3


Best Interview

Survivor: A Domestic Abuse Story – Gillian Whelan from Global’s Newsroom Scotland

The Classic FM Interview: Nick Ferrari in Conversation with Ed Miliband – Classic FM

Alton Towers Crash Victim: Leah Washington Exclusive – Natasia Middleton from Global’s Newsroom Yorkshire


Student Journalist of the Year – supported by the BJTC

Emily Reader – Bauer Academy/NBS Live

Elizabeth Longley – Northumbria University

Rukiyah Khatun – Bauer Academy/NBS Live


Reporter of the Year

Tom Swarbrick – LBC

Laura Pennington – Hallam FM

Connor Gillies – Global’s Newsroom Scotland


Newsreader of the Year under 1M TSA

Henrietta Creasey – Spire FM

Will Chalk – Lincs FM Group Yorkshire

Victoria Glover – 2BR and The Bee


Newsreader of the Year over 1M TSA

Naomi Holland – Downtown Radio and Cool FM

Steve Francis – Global’s Newsroom Wales

Aileen O’Sullivan – Kiss FM UK and Magic FM


News Team of the Year under 1M TSA

Quidem Midlands News Team

BOB FM Hertfordshire

Trax FM


News Team of the Year over 1M TSA

Radio City and City Talk

Global’s Newsroom Scotland

Hallam FM

IRN Editor and Chair of Judges Dave Terris said: “The Awards continue to go from strength to strength because news teams recognise the importance of staying ahead of the game and delivering engaging and distinctive content. The judges have been very impressed with the quality of the entries which is testament to the commitment, ambition and editorial enterprise of teams across the country. I wish all the nominees the best of luck.”

IRN Managing Director Tim Molloy added: “There were over 250 entries across the 11 categories and whittling it down to 32 nominees has been a tough job for our judges. Thank you to everyone who entered and good luck to all the nominees – see you all on March 10th!”


Need a new or improved logo for your radio station? Visit OhMy.Graphics and see how awesome you can look.
Posted on Wednesday, February 3rd, 2016 at 11:25 am by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories
buy metformin metformin online