BBC vs talkSPORT in Sports Journalism Awards

Entries from the BBC’s local radio stations for Leicester and Somerset join 5 live to compete against talkSPORT in the broadcast categories of this year’s British Sports Journalism Awards.

In the Broadcast Sports Presenter category, 5 live’s Mark Chapman and Eleanor Oldroyd are both shortlisted, alongside Mark Saggers and Jim White from talkSPORT. Four programmes from 5 live are nominated for the Radio Sport Factual or Feature award, while from local radio the BBC Radio Leicester commentator Ian Stringer and BBC Somerset are also recognised for their efforts.

Ian – who led the station’s coverage of the Leicester City Premier League title win – competes for the Sports Commentator prize alongside 5 live’s John Murray and Alison Mitchell, Jim Proudfoot and Sam Matterface from talkSPORT, BBC Sport’s Andrew Cotter and Sky Sports TV commentator Martin Tyler.

BBC Somerset’s coverage of Yeovil Town Ladies’ championship-winning season is shortlisted in the Radio Sport Live Broadcast category against two entries from 5 live (coverage of the Rio Olympics and Leicester’s Premier League success), two from talkSPORT (Euro 2016 and the Cheltenham Gold Cup) as well as IMG Productions’ Live @ Wimbledon Radio service.

BBC Somerset Editor Nick Bull says: “This is a tremendous achievement for a small station aiming high – just like the Yeovil Ladies! Our team’s coverage of the last few games of the season as Yeovil Ladies gained promotion was exceptional – and it’s a thrill to be considered alongside the national sports broadcasters.”

Winners in each category will be announced at the British Sports Journalism Awards on 27th February in London.

SJA Broadcast awards co-chairman Philip Barker said: “The glory of Rio, the ups and downs of Euro 2016 and Leicester’s ultimate tale of the unexpected jostle for position. Quality and diversity have once again been the watchwords of this year’s nominees. The SJA broadcast awards have come a long way since they were introduced in 2005. Back then, the results were based on the votes of a ballot of members. Now with a panel of judges of each category, they have become an essential and authentic part of our SJA Sports Awards with a standard of entries to match.”

Picture above shows BBC Somerset’s Yeovil Ladies commentary team: Charlie Taylor, Jack Murley and Alex O’Loughlin.

Here are the nominations for the categories featuring radio people or stations in this year’s British Sports Journalism Awards:

Broadcast Journalist
Richard Conway – BBC Sport
Des Kelly – BT Sport
Paul Kelso – Sky News
Andy May – BT Sport

Broadcast Sports Presenter
Mark Chapman – BBC Sport / BBC Radio 5Live
Eleanor Oldroyd – BBC Radio 5Live
Mark Saggers – talkSPORT
Osi Umenyiora – Whisper Films
Dan Walker – BBC Sport
Jim White – talkSPORT

Radio Sport Factual or Feature
BBC – Colour Race and Quotas: Crossing Continents
BBC Radio 5Live – Fight to the Finish: The Story of Marieke Vervoort
BBC Radio 5Live – Anthony Foley: The Munster Man
BBC Radio 5Live – Hillsborough: The Truth
BBC Radio 5Live – Allen Stanford: Life Behind Bars
talkSPORT – Kick Off: Sexual Abuse in Football

Radio Sport Live Broadcast
BBC Somerset – Yeovil Town Ladies
BBC Radio 5Live – Leicester City’s title win
BBC Radio 5Live – Olympics
IMG Productions – Live @ Wimbledon Radio
talkSPORT – Cheltenham
talkSPORT – Euro 2016

Sports Commentator
Andrew Cotter – BBC Sport
Sam Matterface – talkSPORT
Alison Mitchell – Freelance
John Murray – BBC Radio 5Live
Jim Proudfoot – talkSPORT
Ian Stringer – BBC Radio Leicester
Martin Tyler – Sky Sports

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.