Shortlist out for the BBC Gillard Awards 2017

Nominations for the BBC Local Radio awards event have been released, with BBC Radio Derby, Merseyside and Wiltshire battling it out for Station of the Year.

Here is the shortlist in full:

Best Breakfast Show

BBC Radio Leeds – Liz Green
BBC Radio London – Vanessa Feltz
BBC Wiltshire – Ben Prater

Best Mid-Morning

BBC Coventry & Warwickshire – Vic Minett
BBC Radio Manchester – Mike Sweeney
BBC Somerset – Jack Murley

Best Programme Presenter(s)

BBC Sussex & Surrey – Alison Ferns
BBC Three Counties Radio – Justin Dealy
BBC Wiltshire – James Thomas

Original Journalism

BBC Coventry & Warwickshire – Skin Bleaching
BBC Radio Kent – Alex Bish, Matt Davison
BBC Radio Leeds – Period Poverty

Coverage of a News Story

BBC Radio Kent – Alex Bish
BBC Radio Manchester – Manchester Terror Attack
BBC Sussex and Surrey – The Southern Rail Strike

Diversity NEW

BBC Radio Berkshire – Talking Heads
BBC Radio Northampton – Claire’s Story
BBC Radio Sheffield – Sheffield’s City of Sanctuary

Digital (Innovation)

BBC Radio Bristol
BBC Radio Lincolnshire – #impvasion
BBC Radio Shropshire – Anu & Macey


BBC Radio Leeds – Huddersfield Town Promotion
BBC Radio Lincolnshire – Impossible is Just an Opinion
BBC Radio Sheffield – Boxing & Snooker specials


BBC Radio Cornwall
BBC Radio Solent – Sunday Breakfast
BBC Radio Suffolk – Harvest in Suffolk

Excellence in Production

BBC Radio Berkshire – The Tale of June and Gretel
BBC Radio Cornwall – World Pilot Gigs Championships
BBC Hereford & Worcester

Moment of the Year NEW

BBC Radio Berkshire – Sebastian’s Story
BBC Radio Leeds – Period Poverty
BBC Sussex – Running the Marathon

Station of the Year

BBC Radio Derby
BBC Radio Merseyside
BBC Wiltshire

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories