Full nominations revealed for Audio Production Awards 2022

The shortlist for the Audio Production Awards 2022, which celebrates outstanding achievement in audio, has been announced.

The winners will be revealed at a gala evening at the BFI on London’s South Bank on November 23rd hosted by Poppy Jay & Rubina Pabani.

Bernard Achampong, Founder of Unedited, Vice Chair of AudioUK and Chair of Judges, said: “This year we received a record breaking number of entries across the 22 categories which reflects the sheer growth, creativity and talent working in this space. It is so encouraging to see, and such an exciting industry to be a part of. Our vision is to champion the most outstanding producers whose work we will listen back to in 20 years time and all be proud of. Congratulations to all the nominees, I’m looking forward to raising a glass to the winners of 2022”.

Chloe Straw, Managing Director of AudioUK, said: “Thank you to everyone who entered the Audio Production Awards this year – it is fantastic that we have had a record number of entries once again, testament to the growth of the UK audio industry, and the people who make such quality audio content.

Thank you to our judges who give their expertise so willingly to help decide the shortlist and winners. We have an excellent team who help run the awards; thank you to Sophie Cantopher and Ria Penido; thanks to our excellent Chair of Judges, Bernard Achampong; and thanks to Yassine Senghor who works with us consulting on equality, diversity and inclusion.

A huge thank you to our lead sponsor Audible, without whom the awards would not be able to happen, and to Amazon Music & Wondery who have joined us this year to sponsor the Pay What You Can scheme. Thank you also to our key sponsors: BBC Sounds, BetterHelp, In:Quality, The Podcasting Seriously Awards Fund, The Podcast Show and Radiocentre.

Finally, congratulations to all the nominees. I’m incredibly proud of the quality of work that we hear in the UK audio industry and the brilliant people who make it. I look forward to seeing you all on the 23rd November at the BFI”.

Full list of Nominees for the APAs 2022 below.

Best Arts & Culture Producer

Hannah Dean – Falling Tree Productions
Hannah Hufford – BBC Audio
Geoff Bird – Freelance
Lyndsay Fenner & Victoria Lloyd – Storyglass
Steven Rajam – Overcoat Media
Victoria Ferran – Just Radio

Best Audiobook Producer

Chris Thompson – Penguin Random House
David Beck – Wireless Theatre for Audible
Kathleen Moroney – Red Apple Creative for Audible
Laura-Leigh Smith – String and Tins for Audible
Lily Ridett – Freelance
Tanya Hougham – HarperCollins

Best Branded Sound Producer

Adam Venton – Little Monster Media
Ali Rezakhani – BBC Sounds
Chris Nicoll – WIZZFX
Kenny Southavy – Reelworld
Luke Berry – BBC Popular Music Station Sound
Sam Parker – WIZZFX

Best Drama & Fiction Producer

Andrew Mark Sewell – B7 Productions
Barnaby Eaton-Jones & Ian Haig – Idea Hat Productions
Celia de Wolff – Pier Productions
Jacqueline Rayner – Big Finish Productions
Melanie Harris – Sparklab Productions
Nicolas Jackson – Afonica

Best Ensemble Cast

Elis James & John Robins – Audio Always
Helen Brown, Terri Sweeney, Emma Goswell & Beena Khetani – Effin Hormones
Joelah, Keke & DJ Silk – 1Xtra’s Throwback Party
Kat Anderson & Natalia Anderson – Expat Immigrant Podcast
Kim Davis & Raffaella Coleman – The Scene
William Hanson & Jordan North – Audio Always

Best Entertainment Producer

Adem Waterman – Absolute Radio
Lorna Skingley – 7digital
Lucy Dearlove – Storyglass
Meera Kumar – Auddy
Ore Olukoga – TBI Media
Victoria Ferran – Just Radio

Best Factual Producer Sponsored by In:Quality

Axel Kacoutié – Falling Tree Productions
Eva Krysiak – Freelance
Joshua Kelly – The Guardian
Kate Taylor – Audible
Redzi Bernard – Falling Tree Productions
Russell Finch – Wondery

Best Lifestyle & Society Producer (New for 2022) Sponsored by BetterHelp

Andrew Gold – Freelance
Anouszka Tate – Freelance
Lina Prestwood – Scenery Studios
Sangeeta Pillai – Soul Sutras
Selina Ream – Somethin’ Else
Sylvie Carlos – Unedited

Best Music Producer

Arthur Hagues – Prison Radio Association
Helen Watherhead – Audio Always
Jack Howson
Katie Callin – Multitrack
Keana Bernard – BBC Audio
Nate Goodman – We Are Grape

Best Narrator

Andy Serkis – HarperCollins
Julie Hesmondhalgh – HarperCollins
Kristin Atherton – Penguin Random House
Minnie Driver – Bonnier Books UK
Tom Alexander – HarperCollins
Tracy Wiles – Almost Tangible

Best New Producer Sponsored by BBC Sounds

Charlotte North – Whistledown
Julian Maclurg – Freelance
Pippa Smith – Novel
Redzi Bernard – Falling Tree Productions
Rufaro Faith Mazarura – Audio Always
Talia Augustidis – Message Heard

Best New Voice Sponsored by BBC Sounds

Afrodeutsche – Reform Radio
Cara McGoogan – The Telegraph
Lianne Sanderson – talkSPORT
Lily Baldwin – Audible
Peter Waring – Whistledown
Talia Augustidis – Message Heard

Best News & Current Affairs Producer

Ant Adeane – Freelance
Daniel Rosney – BBC Newsbeat
Edward Drummond – The Times and The Sunday Times
James Shield – The Times and The Sunday Times
Ruth Abrahams – Freelance
Taryn Siegel – The Times and The Sunday Times

Best Presenter Sponsored by The Podcast Show

Axel Kacoutié – Falling Tree Productions
Claudia Winkleman – TBI Media
Danny Robins – Bafflegab Productions
Elis James & John Robins – Audio Always
John Sweeney – Chalk and Blade
Rob Beckett – TBI Media

Best Sound Design Producer

Axel Kacoutié – Freelance
Hannah Dean – Falling Tree Productions
John Wakefield – Audible
Kit Milsom – Mags Creative
Steve Urquhart – Freelance

Best Sports Producer

Adonis Pratsides – The Athletic UK
Chessie Bent – TBI Media
Christian Hewgill – BBC Radio 1 Newsbeat
Joel Grove – Guardian News and Media
Isabel Minter – talkSPORT
Olly Clink – talkSPORT

Gethin Thomas Award for Best Comedy Producer

David Tyler – Pozzitive
Ed Morrish – Lead Mojo Productions
Gus Beattie – Gusman Productions
Gwyn Rhys Davies – BBC Studios
Kurt Brookes – Made In Manchester
Matt Thomas – Audio Always

Grassroots Production Awards Sponsored by Podcasting, Seriously Awards Fund

Boz Temple-Morris & Fin Kennedy – The Waves Carousel
Miranda Rae – Afrikan Queens
Modus Arts C.I.C – Tape Letters
Steve Urquhart – Doing Bird
Vic Elizabeth Turnbull – MIC Media

Producer of the Year (New for 2022)

Hana Walker-Brown – Broccoli Productions / Freelance
Hannah Dean – Falling Tree Productions
Jack Howson
Jon Holmes – unusual
Steve Urquhart – Freelance
Victoria Ferran – Just Radio

Production Company of the Year Sponsored by Radiocentre

Holy Mountain
Reduced Listening
TBI Media
We Are Grape

Publisher or Network of the Year (New for 2022)

Crowd Network
Fun Kids
Mags Creative
Resonance FM
Sky News

The Sustainability Award (New for 2022)

Jo Kennedy & Cathy Shaw – Nature Tripping
Loftus Media – Funghi: The New Frontier
The Long Time Academy – Scenery Studios
Lucia Scazzocchio – Wild Eye
Reform Radio

Posted on Tuesday, November 1st, 2022 at 1:10 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories