Celebration of Music Radio

Last night saw the Celebration of Music Radio take place in London. Phill Jupitus hosted the evening, and the show started with Beverly Knight ? who had previously appeared as a show case artist at Music Radio several years ago. The Zutons also played. The evening presentations and Awards finished with Embrace who played their number 2 single, Nature?s Law and Gravity.

PPL Lifetime Achievement Award wasAwarded to Roger Daltrey. Fran Nevrkla the chairman of PPL said a few words ? on this the second year of the Lifetime Achievement Award. The Award was presented to Roger Daltrey by Andy Kershaw, BBC Radio 3.

Neilsen Music Control Award for the Most Played Artist on UK Radio: Ray Bonici from NMC was on stage to present the Award. It was won by Coldplay who couldn?t be there to accept it in person, so sent a recorded acceptance speech. (Last year Chris Martin presented the PRS John Peel Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music Radio to Steve Lamacq). Kevin McCabe from Parlaphone accepted the award on their behalf. Since it started in 1999 this award has only been won by four people: Robbie Williams, Kylie, Jamelia and Coldplay.

Regional Plugger of the Year Award: This was won by Intermedia Regional and Presented by Danny from Embrace.

National Plugger of the Year Award was won by Jo Kenney from the Columbia Label Group and presented by The Zutons

The Scott Piering Award: Won by Gary Farrow, The Corporation. VT from Elton John and acceptance VT from Gary Farrow who couldn?t be there to accept in person so John Bradford, director of the Radio Academy collected it on Gary?s Behalf.

The PRS John Peel Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music Radio: Ellis Rich, chairman PRS on stage to present award along with Trevor Nelson, BBC Radio 1.The Award went to Charlie Gillett – currently broadcasting on the BBC.

There was also a presentation of a Radio Academy Fellowship. This was presented by Tim Blackmore, MBE to Johnny Beerling, former controller of BBC Radio 1.

Notes on the Awards:

Scott Piering Award.
Instituted in memory of great man who single handedly did much to improve understanding between the music and radio industries. To keep his memory alive the Radio Academy presents this award each year to others who have made significant contributions in the promotion of product, and understanding of the music industry, to their colleagues in Radio.

PRS John Peel Award for outstanding contribution to Music Radio. Named after the iconic broadcaster whose talent almost defines the award, this is awarded to a broadcaster who through the talent and rich understanding of music has brought a whole repertoire to life for new listeners.

Radio Acadmey Fellowship
The highest honour the Radio Academy may confer upon a member of our industry. Fellowships are awarded to recognise individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the industry and/or the Academy.

Posted on Friday, March 31st, 2006 at 11:50 am by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories