with RCS

IRN Awards nominees announced

The shortlist for the IRN Awards has been announced this morning, with GMG's Real Radio stations getting the most nominations – 6 in total. The last four in each category have been selected, ready for the awards ceremony on April 12th in central London.

The IRN Awards launched 5 years ago to celebrate the high quality of journalism in UK commercial radio and are backed by all the key UK radio groups. A cash prize and trophy are awared in each of the categories. This year the IRN judges will launch a new award category to recognise an individual's outstanding contribution to commercial radio journalism.

IRN Editor Jon Godel said: "This year has seen a huge rise in the number of entries for the UK's only radio Journalism awards. It once again proves that quality journalism is alive and well in commercial radio. It's been tough boiling down the categories and it will be even harder to select the winners."

The full list of nominations is as follows:

[b]Best Sports Coverage:[/b]
GCap Sport – 2006 Champions League Final
Key 103 – Fergie's Years
Radio City – FA Cup Final 2006/FA Cup Homecoming
Real Radio Yorkshire – Sheffield United's Path to the Premiership

[b]Best Funny Story:[/b]
Hallam FM – TC the Amazing Cat
Radio Forth – Pigeons in Parliament
Real Radio Yorkshire – Crazy Italian Woman
Xfm – My Bare Lady

[b]Scoop of the Year:[/b]
Kiss 101 – Racial Inclusion
Mercury FM – Rogue Gatwick Airport Parking
Radio Forth – Jack McConnell refuses to support England in the World Cup
TFM – 'Boro in Bother

[b]Young Journalist of the Year:[/b]
Will Barkway – Invicta FM
Hannah Barnes – Mercury FM
Jim Pusey – Brunel FM
Ray Sadri – Beacon Radio

[b]News Reporter of the Year:[/b]
Colin Mackay – Radio Forth
John Pickford – Key 103
James Webster – Real Radio Yorkshire
Siobhan Robbins – Viking FM

[b]Best News Programme:[/b]
Radio City – Magic at 6
Real Radio Wales – 40th Anniversary of Aberfan
Real Radio Yorkshire – Websafe Programme
Town 102 – The Suffolk Murders

[b]Best News Coverage:[/b]
Key 103/Magic 1152
Rother FM
Kiss 101

[b]Newsreader of the Year:[/b]
Jason Beck – Wave 105
Giulia Bould – Radio City
Howard Hughes – 102.2 Smooth FM London
Kevin Pashby – BRMB

[b]IRN Contribution Award:[/b]
Clyde FM
Key 103
Real Radio Scotland
Rock FM

[link=https://radiotoday.co.uk]RadioToday.co.uk – non-stop radio news[/link] radionews@radiotoday.co.uk or call 0871 315 6 315

You might also like

Comments are closed.