with RCS

Hospital Radio Awards results

The results are out for this year's National Hospital Radio Awards – with Hospital Radio Chelmsford winning Station of the Year.

It's a hat-trick of wins for Chelmsford as member Graham Medhurst was also named the Hospital Broadcasting Association Volunteer of the Year, while fellow broadcaster Pam Shearing took Bronze in the Newcomer of the Year Category.

Judges this year included BBC Radio 2 and 6 Music Controller Bob Shennan, BBC Weather Presenter Carol Kirkwood, SKY Radio News Editor Andy Ivy and Radio Academy Chief Executive Trevor Dann – who was on hand, in Renfrew, to hand over the Station of the Year prize.

Hospital Radio Plymouth took Silver for the second year running, while Hospital Radio Basingstoke took the Bronze prize.

[i]Here are the winners in full:[/i]

[b]Station of the Year:[/b]
Bronze: Hospital Radio Basingstoke
Silver: Hospital Radio Plymouth
Gold: Hospital Radio Chelmsford

[b]Male Presenter of the Year:[/b]
Bronze: Steve Pexton, Harrogate Hospital Radio
Silver: Dave Bee, Northern Air Hospital Radio
Gold: David Reece, Radio Northwick Park

[b]Female Presenter of the Year:[/b]
Bronze: Anita Hepple, HWD Hospital Radio
Silver: Lesley Jennings, Rookwood Sound
Gold: Shelley Nobile, Radio Grapevine

[b]The John Whitney Award:[/b]
John Murray, Victoria Radio Network

[b]Volunteer of the Year:[/b]
Graham Medhurst, Hospital Radio Chelmsford

[b]Best Newcomer:[/b]
Bronze: Pam Shearing, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Silver: Steven Bews, Hospital Radio Wey
Gold: Louise Croombs, Hospital Radio Reading

[b]The Special Event Award:[/b]
Bronze: Hospital Radio Perth
Silver: Choice Radio
Gold: Radio Northwick Sky

[b]Best Speech Package:[/b]
Bronze, Radio Cherwell
Silver: Sunshine Hospital Radio
Gold: Hospital Radio Perth

[b]Specialist Music Programme:[/b]
Bronze: Grampian Hospital Radio
Silver: Castle Mead Radio
Gold: Hospital Radio Wey

[b]Best Station Promotion:[/b]
Bronze: Hospital Radio Plymouth
Silver: Radio Grapevine
Gold: Radio West Middlesex

The ceremony in Renfrew was hosted by the Lincs FM Group's Director of Programme Sean Dunderdale – who was also co-producer of the awards, once again, this year. He was joined on stage by a host of guests, including BBC Scotland Presenter Jim Gellatly, BRMB's Robin Banks and Trevor Dann. A pair of Scottish Pipers kicked off the event, while a video message was played from the Scottish Deputy Minister and Health Secretary Nicola Sturgeon.

The event launched National Hospital Broadcasting Week, which run until the Easter Weekend and is aimed at raising awareness of Hospital Radio in the UK, currently available at over 200 establishments across the UK.

You might also like

Comments are closed.