Stornoway album wins Xfm prize

The debut album by Stornoway has won Xfm's New Music Award and been named the best British album of 2010.

Thousands of Xfm listeners voted online in the competition, with the ten finalists judged by a panel of leading music industry experts.

The album 'Beachcomber’s Windowsill' beat stiff competition from other acts including Fenech-Soler, Kele, and Two Door Cinema Club to scoop the fourth consecutive Xfm New Music Award.

This year’s judging panel included Xfm’s Dave Berry, John Kennedy, and Clint Boon, as well as Snow Patrol front-man Gary Lightbody and Happy Monday’s Shaun Ryder. They were also joined by industry producers and experts such as John Leckie – producer of legendary albums by bands such as The Stone Roses and Radiohead – and MTV’s Digital Media Director David Morgendorff.

Xfm’s Deputy Programme Director/Head of Music Mike Walsh told "This is an album of true warmth and sincerity. Our judges were impressed by the honesty and openness of the record and how well it worked as a whole album."

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories