Global leads Arqivas nomination shortlists

Global Radio has 15 nominations for this year’s Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards, including seven for Capital FM which goes up against Absolute Radio and Bauer’s Radio City 96.7 for Station of the Year.

Bauer has 13 nominations and Absolute has 11, while GMG Radio receives seven nominations.

Jack FM Oxfordshire gets four nominations, while there are three shortlisted entries from Orion Media and three from CN Radio’s The Bay. There are single nominations for Jack FM Hertfordshire, Isle of Wight Radio, Quidem’s Touch FM and Lincs FM Group’s Trax FM.

The commercial radio awards are run by RadioCentre, and once again this year stations from radio groups which aren’t members of the organisation – such as UTV Media and UKRD – aren’t taking part.

See the full list of nominees here.

In the Presenter of the Year categories, Christian O’Connell (Absolute) goes up against Global Radio duo John Suchet (Classic FM) and Danny Wallace (XFM) for stations with a TSA over 1m. In the presenter category for smaller stations, the battle is between Northsound 1’s Grieg and Yasmin, Trax FM’s Matt Foister and Trevor Marshall from Jack FM Oxfordshire.

The Jack FM brand is up for five awards in total – four of them for the Oxfordshire version, the other for the Hertfordshire news team.

The breakfast show award for large stations sees rival Scotland morning shows from Capital FM (Des & Jennie) and Real Radio (Ewen & Cat) go up against each other along with Absolute’s Christian O’Connell. In the smaller station category it’s between The Bay’s Danny Matthews, Radio Aire’s Rich Williams and Jack FM Oxfordshire’s Morning Glory team.

Jack FM Oxfordshire is also shortlisted in the Station of the Year (300,000-1m TSA) category alongside two of Bauer’s Scottish stations, Northsound 1 and Radio Tay. In the category for stations with a TSA under 300,000 it’s between Bauer’s Moray Firth Radio, Isle of Wight Radio and Lancaster-based The Bay.

This year’s IRN News Award winning news team from GMG Radio North West is shortlisted for news team of the year at the Arqivas, along with Radio Aire and Jack FM Hertfordshire. GMG’s North West news team is also nominated in two other categories – Feature of the Year and Social Action Initiative for its specials on the tenth anniversary of the Oldham Riots and cocaine.

And PDs from the three biggest commercial radio groups go head to head in the Programmer of the Year category. Shortlisted are Capital FM’s James Brownlow, Metro Radio’s Chris Pegg and Real Radio Yorkshire’s Ricky Durkin.

See the full list of nominees here.

The shortlists across 25 categories were announced in a live webcast this lunchtime, presented by Heart London breakfast duo Jamie Theakston and Harriet Scott. It was broadcast online for the first time in the awards’ 17-year history in association with Myspace. Colin Petrie-Norris, MD International from Myspace said: “Myspace is a place for fans to discover new music from all corners of the UK, so being able to help highlight the great work this country’s radio stations are doing is fantastic. We wish all the nominees the very best of luck.”

The awards will be handed out at the Westminster Bridge Park Plaza hotel on Wednesday 4th July, with music performances from acts yet to be announced. Absolute Radio’s Christian O’Connell will once again be hosting the event.

Andrew Harrison, chief executive of RadioCentre said: “The Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards are a great opportunity for our radio stations to showcase their work. We are delighted to have received our highest number of entries ever this year, with some really fantastic entrants into our new Radio Station Event of the Year category.”

Ben Hart, Head of Client Relationships, Commercial Radio, Arqiva commented: “Arqiva is an ardent supporter of the best of British broadcasting and, for us, commercial radio is no exception. Celebrating the best in radio is as important to us as ensuring it reaches listeners in the quality our broadcasters intended. I’d like to wish all the nominees the best of luck in this year’s awards.”

As well as the awards for which nominations have been announced, four extra prizes will be handed out on 4th July. These are The RadioCentre Chairman’s Award, The Special Award, The Lifetime Achievement Award and The Arqiva Gold Award.

Posted on Thursday, May 10th, 2012 at 2:45 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories