with RCS

Radio talent honoured at Arqiva Hall of Fame

The Radio Academy has inducted Pete Tong, Victoria Derbyshire, Frank Skinner, Nihal Arthanayake and Tony Butler into its Hall of Fame at a lunch held in Birmingham today.

Pete Tong MBE said: “I’m truly flattered to be inducted into the Radio Academy Hall Of Fame. Radio truly inspired and shaped my career path from an early age. Sitting in my bedroom as a young teenager listening to the likes of Emperor Rosko, Robbie Vincent, Johnny Walker, Tony Prince, Greg Edwards & Peter Powell. I’m a huge fan of the medium which at its best is still so simple so powerful and so personal. Long may it reign!”

Victoria Derbyshire said: “I’m totally thrilled and honoured to be invited to join The Radio Academy’s Hall of Fame and seriously humbled to be in the company of such radio giants as Kenny Everett, Chris Evans, Jane Garvey and Alistair Cook.”

Frank Skinner said: “When I heard I was to become a Hall of Famer, I felt properly proud. Does this mean I’ll finally get my publicity postcard in the reception area? The one with me looking preoccupied, in headphones. My ‘Mr Radio’ jingle suddenly seems much less ironic.”

Nihal Arthanayake said: “I treat this news with a mixture of bewilderment and shock. I have been on the radio for 13 years and the BBC has allowed me to go and explore my interests and challenge myself. To now be inducted into the Radio Hall Of Fame at this stage in my career is such an honour that I’m not sure how to articulate it. I’ve still got lots to do and lots to learn and this incredible honour will give me even more energy to carry on this exciting journey. Thank you to all involved in choosing me.”

Ben Hart, Head of Commercial Radio at Arqiva, said: ““We are delighted to have sponsored the Radio Academy Hall of Fame Lunch for the third year running. Held in Birmingham for the first time, it was a great success and provided a fantastic opportunity to honour the talented individuals we have in the UK’s radio industry. I’d like to congratulate Frank, Nihal, Pete, Tony and Victoria on being inducted into The Radio Academy Hall of Fame. Their hard work and dedication to radio have ensured that they are all very much deserving of this honour.”

Roger Cutsforth, Managing Director of The Radio Academy, said: “Wow, what an inspirational group of radio broadcasters. It is a privilege to induct them into the Hall of Fame and highlights just how blessed with talent our industry is.”


You might also like

Comments are closed.