Nominations out for Hospital Radio Awards 2016

The nominations have been revealed for the National Hospital Radio Awards 2016.

HBA patron Alan Dedicoat, better known as the Voice of the Lottery and Strictly Come Dancing, has made the announcement in a special recording, released on the HBA website and broadcast as part of Hospital Radio’s Big Broadcast, a 24 hour special, networked across a number of stations across the UK, to help patients see in the New Year.

He’s revealed the shortlist of nine of the eleven categories, in which a Bronze, Silver and Gold Winner will be confirmed at the HBA Conference, being held this year in Watford over the weekend of March 18th – 20th.

Last year’s winner of Station of the Year, Radio Plymouth is again in the running – despite the station being severely damaged in June when a skip lorry crashed in to it’s studio, killing the driver. It’s one of five nominations for Plymouth this year.

Radio Tyneside, based in Newcastle, also has five nominations in total, including another for its coverage of the Great North Run, which it won Gold for in the Special Event Awards last year and it’s Geordie Hour which won Gold in the Best Specialist Music Category last year.

Radio Glamorgan, meanwhile, comes out on top with eight nominations , having won Silver in the Station of the Year in 2015. It includes two of its presenters going up against each other for the title of Best Male Presenter, with both Andrew Lowman-Jones and Jamie Pritchard in the shortlist, alongside the winner of Silver and Gold Newcomer last year, Joe Pilbrow of Radio Cherwell.

The awards ceremony in Watford is again being hosted by Lincs FM’s Director of Programming Sean Dunderdale who’s co-producing the awards with his Scunthorpe Hospital Radio colleague Iain Lee. Both had revealed plans to step down last year, however have volunteered to continue running the awards while the HBA undergoes a restructure, as part of it’s long-term vision for the future of the Association.

Sean is promising a few changes to the ceremony this year, following feedback from attendees. He’s told RadioToday: “We feel it’s time for a slight refresh, though we won’t be completely overhauling the event. We’ve had more entries than ever this year, especially for the hotly contested Male and Female Presenter of the Year categories and it’s great to see (or rather hear) the fantastic work being done by Hospital Radio Volunteers right across the UK. It’s fair to say this is going to be on the toughest years yet for our judges.”

The full list of nominations:

Best Station Promotion
Bay Trust Radio, the Brandon Chorley Show
CHBN – Sponsorship
Coventry Hospital Radio – Lee Bakers Final Revival
Hospital Radio Chelmsford – the VIP request Show
Hospital Radio Reading – The Sainsbury Sunday Surprise
Nottingham Hospitals Radio – Best of British
Radio Brockley – Thursday Live
Radio Glamorgan – The RG Rugby Team
Radio Harrow – On Tour
Radio Tyneside – Radio Time

Best Specialist Music Programme
Hospital Radio Basingstoke – Sounds of the 50s
Hospital Radio Bedside – Down Home Town
HWD – The Classic Rock Show
Inverness Hospital Radio – Sunday Ceilidh
Nottingham Hospitals Radio – The Country Store
Radio Brockley – The Country Music Show
Radio Fox – It’s That Soul and Motown Show
Radio Glamorgan – The Classical Show
Radio Tyneside – The Geordie Hour
Sunshine Radio – Music in the Air

Best Speech Package
CHBN – Mike Brown interviews Philippa Lusty
Coventry Hospital Radio – Hypnotism, Before During and After
Hospital Radio Basingstoke – Maria Miller MP
Hospital Radio Chelmsford – Eric Smart and John Barker
Hospital Radio Plymouth – Hot Mustard
Radio Brockley – Clinical Trials Day
Radio Redhill – the London to Brighton Veteran Car Run
Radio Tyneside – Dr Kinlays Facebook
Radio Wexham – Bullying, Not My Problem
Sunshine Hospital Radio – Swooping in and Saving Lives.

Best Special Event
Apple FM – Taunton Flower Show
CHBN – Walk for Wards
Hospital Radio Basingstoke – The Magna Carta Festival
Hospital Radio Chelmsford – Election 2015
Hospital Radio Plymouth – Dementia Awareness Week
Radio Glamorgan – Phase Two of the Childrens Hospital of Wales official opening
Radio Harrow – The Colon Challenge
Radio Tyneside – The Great North Run 2015
Ridgeway Radio – Christmas Day Special
Winchester Hospital Radio – Hat Fair 2015

Best Newcomer
Alfie Reynolds, BHBS
Alistair McLaughlin, Inverness Hospital Radio
JD Van Zyl, Citybeat
Katie Child, Radio Redhill
Lucy Hayne, Watford Hospital Radio
Mark Crees, CHBN
Matt Richings, Radio Wey
Natalie Collins, Hospital Radio Bedside
Paul Morrish, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Tom Kearns, Radio Glamorgan

Best Programme with Multiple Presenters
Arrowe Sound – Ladies at Lunch, with Mandy and Beryl
Bay Trust Radio – The Brandon Chorley Show
BHBS – Best of the West
Hospital Radio Basingstoke – Mel and Adie
Hospital Radio Bedside – iKidz
Hospital Radio Plymouth – Requestline
Inverness Hospital Radio – Most Requested with Alistair McLaughlin and Carol Hutchison
Nottingham Hospitals Radio – Your Choice with Jake and Julie
Radio Hillingdon – The Request Show
Radio Stitch – Snakes and Ladders

Best Male Presenter
Andrew Lowman-Jones, Radio Glamorgan
Dan Sambell, Coventry Hospital Radio
Dave Warren, Hospital Radio Basingstoke
Ian Wighton, Harrogate Hospital Radio
Jamie Pritchard, also from Radio Glamorgan
JD Van Zyl, Citybeat
Joe Pilbrow, Radio Cherwell
Peter May, Hospital Radio Plymouth
Rajiv Hasan, Nottingham Hospitals Radio
Roy Peach, Radio Cherwell

Best Female Presenter
Christine Rowley, Hospital Radio Basingstoke
Eileen Thompson, Durham Hospitals Radio
Ellie Jackson, Harrogate Hospital Radio
Emily Crewe, Radio Fox
Helen Ward, Radio Glamorgan
Laura Durrant, Sunshine Hospital Radio
Lesley Jennings, Rookwood Sound
Nita Jhummu, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Peggy Mack, The Hospital Broadcasting Service
Tindy C Chagger, Radio Fox

Station of the Year
Bay Trust Radio
Coventry Hospital Radio
Harrogate Hospital Radio
Hospital Radio Basingstoke
Hospital Radio Plymouth
Radio Brockley
Radio Glamorgan
Radio Redhill
Radio Tyneside
The Hospital Broadcasting Service

The Bronze, Silver and Gold winners will be revealed – along with the overall winners of the Fundraiser of the Year and the John Whitney Award, at the Awards Ceremony in Watford in March.

Bookings of the Conference Weekend are also now open, via the HBA website.

Need a new or improved logo for your radio station? Visit OhMy.Graphics and see how awesome you can look.
Posted on Friday, January 1st, 2016 at 2:29 pm by Roy Martin

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories
buy metformin metformin online