Tony Blackburn wins Gold at production awards

Tony Blackburn was named as the Gold winner at the Audio Production Awards 2017.

The radio presenter got the top award of the night whilst TBI Media’s Phil Critchlow was given a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Adam Sims scooped Audiobook Narrator of the Year at Gala Ceremony, Lauren Laverne won Best Music Presenter, and Dotun Adebayo took home the Best Speech Presenter.

The winners were announced at a Gala Ceremony at London’s BFI Southbank, on Thursday 23rd November, hosted by BBC Radio 1Xtra presenter Trevor Nelson MBE and Lead Sponsored by Audible.

The show opened with a set by stand-up comedian, Mark Watson.

Indie of the Year was won by PRA Productions of whom the judges said: “In a strong field this flourishing Indie was a clear winner. The judges were in awe of the sheer range, imagination and ambition of the output, bringing remarkable, challenging stories to air through drama, live events, music shows, factual entertainment, documentary and debate.”

The Prison Radio Association was a double winner on the night, collecting trophies for Indie of the Year (as PRA Productions) and the Grassroots Production Award as National Prison Radio. Former Labour Leader, Ed Miliband was also honoured, winning Silver in the Best New Voice category. The judges called him, “A wonderful revelation on Radio 2, where his genuine warmth, humour and empathy with listeners points towards a long and distinguished career in broadcasting.”

Overall, eight indie production companies won their categories.

A full list of winners is available here.

RIG Managing Director, Will Jackson, said: “Our winners tonight once again exemplify the huge amount of talent there is in audio production companies across the UK, and throughout the wider radio and audio sector. The incredible content they produce demonstrates both the continuing strength of radio, and the exciting new opportunities offered by the fast-growing audio market.”

Laurence Howell, Senior Director, Content for Audible UK, said: “We’ve been a long-time supporter of the Audio Production Awards and are proud to be partnering again this year to recognise great audio entertainment. Spoken-word audio continues to boom, with more people than ever enjoying expertly produced audiobooks, dramas, podcasts and on-demand radio. As always we’re delighted to spotlight the producers, presenters, technicians, sound-designers and narrators who are at the forefront of this surge in interest. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees.”

A panel of almost 80 judges from across the audio industry selected the winners.

Posted on Thursday, November 23rd, 2017 at 10:51 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories