Global Awards hosts return for second year

Heart’s Rochelle Humes, Capital Breakfast’s Roman Kemp and Classic FM and Smooth presenter Myleene Klass will host The Global Awards once again this year.

The ceremony takes place at London’s Eventim Apollo Hammersmith on Thursday March 7th featuring performances from Mark Ronson, Little Mix, Lang Lang, Blossoms, Mabel, Anne-Marie and more.

The Global Awards 2019 with will recognise the best in music, news and entertainment and the award categories reflect the music, programmes and news aired on Global’s radio stations; Capital, Heart, Classic FM, Smooth, Radio X, Capital XTRA, Gold and LBC.

Shortlisted artists include Ariana Grande, Dua Lipa, Arctic Monkeys, Little Mix, Post Malone, Anne-Marie, Sheku Kanneh-Mason, Jess Glynne, Nicola Benedetti, Rudimental, Drake, Florence + the Machine, Ava Max, Liam Payne, Olly Murs and Take That. The public and a panel of industry experts will vote for their winners in a host of popular categories.

Roman Kemp said: “It’s an honour to return to host such an incredible event. The calibre of talent that Global brings together under one roof is phenomenal, with performances from some of the world’s biggest artists. It promises to be an amazing night and I can’t wait.”

Rochelle Humes said: “After the huge success of last year’s Global Awards, I’m flattered to be asked back to co-present alongside the wonderful Myleene and Roman. It’s going to be a very special evening, celebrating the stars of music, news and entertainment. Last year we saw Little Mix score the hat-trick at our first ever ceremony and I can’t wait to see who’ll take the charge this year.”

Myleene Klass adds: “I am thrilled to be back hosting The Global Awards again on behalf of Classic FM and Smooth. I don’t know any other awards show where you’d get the chance to see the world’s greatest pianist Lang Lang and our very own Little Mix perform on the same stage. I genuinely cannot wait.”


Best Song with Metro (public vote)

  • 5 Seconds Of Summer – Youngblood
  • Ariana Grande – No Tears Left to Cry
  • Lady Gaga, Bradley Cooper – Shallow
  • Little Mix – Woman Like Me ft Nicki Minaj
  • Shawn Mendes – In My Blood

Best Group (public vote)

  • 5 Seconds Of Summer
  • Arctic Monkeys
  • Little Mix
  • Maroon 5
  • Take That

Best Male

  • Calvin Harris
  • Liam Payne
  • Mark Ronson
  • Olly Murs
  • Post Malone

Best Female

  • Anne-Marie
  • Ariana Grande
  • Dua Lipa
  • Halsey
  • Jess Glynne

Best British Artist or Group

  • Anne-Marie
  • Dua Lipa
  • Jess Glynne
  • Little Mix
  • Rudimental

The LBC Award

This category recognises the best in news reporting or a news moment that really stood out in 2018.

Rising Star Award (public vote)

  • Ava Max
  • Ella Mai
  • Halsey
  • Keala Settle
  • Rak-Su

Best Classical Artist (public vote)

  • Bryn Terfel
  • Jess Gillam
  • Lang Lang
  • Nicola Benedetti
  • Sheku Kanneh-Mason

Most Played Song

This is the song that has enjoyed the most airplay across the Global group of stations in the period from December 12th 2017 – December 11th 2018. The winner will be revealed on the night.

Mass Appeal Award

  • Jess Glynne
  • Lady Gaga
  • Olly Murs
  • Sam Smith
  • Take That

Social Media Superstar (public vote)

  • Cardi B
  • Colleen Ballinger
  • Halsey
  • Joe Sugg
  • Zara Larsson

Best RnB, Hip-Hop or Grime (public vote)

  • Drake
  • Ella Mai
  • Khalid
  • Travis Scott
  • Tyga

Best Indie

  • Arctic Monkeys
  • Blossoms
  • Florence + the Machine
  • Jade Bird
  • Stereophonics

Best Pop

  • 5 Seconds Of Summer
  • Anne-Marie
  • Dua Lipa
  • Liam Payne
  • Little Mix
Need a new or improved logo for your radio station? Visit OhMy.Graphics and see how awesome you can look.
Posted on Tuesday, February 12th, 2019 at 9:36 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories
buy metformin metformin online