talkSPORT and BBC win at Sports Journalism Awards

BBC Radio 5 Live, BBC World Service, talkSPORT and a number of BBC local radio stations picked up awards at the Sports Journalism Awards in London this week.

talkSPORT won the blue ribbon Network of the Year award with Jim White and Natalie Sawyer’s mid-morning show, White & Sawyer winning Best Radio Show/ Audio of the Year.

The station’s Bloodgate documentary was highly commended with a silver accolade for its investigation into the rugby fake blood scandal following talkSPORT’s move into specialist documentaries this year.

At the BBC, Mike Costello won best Sports Commentator for 5 Live, the Gold Audio / Radio Live Event Coverage winner was 5 Live for its Cricket World Cup Final, and BBC World Service Sport won best Audio / Radio Documentary for The Hurricane Tapes,

BBC Radio Bristol picked up Bronze for The Jimmy Peters Story in the Audio / Radio Documentary category, whilst in the best Audio / Radio Show Costello and Bunce got Silver and That Peter Crouch Podcast got Bronze, both from BBC Radio 5 Live.

Audio / Radio Live Event Coverage Silver went to BBC Somerset’s Cricket Show at Lord’s and Bronze went to BBC Asian Network for its 2019 Cricket World Cup coverage.

Head of talkSPORT Lee Clayton said: “The Network of the Year award is huge for us and testament to all the hard work from the team over the past 12 months. talkSPORT has always been the home of the fan and a place for passionate debate and expert analysis. But we are also a place for exclusive news and the best live action from the world of sport. From England Cricket’s overseas tours to the biggest boxing clashes and more live Premier League coverage than ever before through our new GameDay programming, we are building a roster of unmissable live action and content for fans.”

Wireless CEO Scott Taunton added: “These are exciting times for talkSPORT and being named Network of the Year is just reward for the hard work of Lee and the team. As we continue to invest in new programming and sports rights to grow the station’s three million-strong on air audience we’re also developing a booming online offering for fans.”

Broadcast Awards

Broadcast Journalist

Winner: Christina Macfarlane – CNN
Silver Award: Dan Roan – BBC Sports News
Bronze Award: Gabriel Clarke – ITV Sport

Sports Commentator

Winner: Mike Costello – BBC Radio 5Live
Silver Award: Nasser Hussain – Sky Sports
Bronze Award: Clive Tyldesley – ITV Sport

Sports Presenter

Winner: Steve Jones – Whisper
Silver Award: Mike Wedderburn – Sky Sports News
Bronze Award: Gabby Logan – BBC Sport

Sports Pundit

Winner: Gary Neville – Sky Sports
Silver Award: Nasser Hussain – Sky Sports
Bronze Award: Alex Scott – BBC Sport

Audio / Radio Documentary

Winner: The Hurricane Tapes – BBC World Service Sport
Silver Award: Bloodgate – talkSPORT
Bronze Award: The Jimmy Peters Story – BBC Radio Bristol

Audio / Radio Show

Winner: White and Sawyer – talkSPORT
Silver Award: Costello and Bunce – BBC Radio 5Live
Bronze Award: That Peter Crouch Podcast – BBC Radio 5Live

Audio / Radio Live Event Coverage

Winner: Cricket World Cup Final – BBC Radio 5Live
Silver Award: BBC Somerset’s Cricket Show at Lord’s – BBC Somerset
Bronze Award: 2019 Cricket World Cup – BBC Asian Network

Television / Digital Documentary

Winner: Adam Hills: Take His Legs – Noah Media Group
Silver Award: The Kennedy Who Changed the World – BBC
Bronze Award: The Edge – Noah Media Group in association with Heavy Soul Films

Television / Digital Live Event Coverage

Winner: Cricket World Cup Final – Sky Sports & Sunset + Vine
Silver Award: European Qualifiers: Bulgaria v England – ITV Sport
Bronze Award: Cheltenham Festival – ITV Sport

Television Sport Live Broadcast

Winner: Cricket on 5 – Ashes Headingley Final Day – Sunset+Vine
Silver Award: I’m Game – Sky Sports
Bronze Award: ITV Racing: The Opening Show – ITV Sport

Broadcast Ones to Watch (on air)

Winner: Emma Saunders – BBC
Silver Award: Katie Shanahan – BBC Sports News
Silver Award: Alex Jacques – F1 TV Channel, BBC 5Live, Sky Sports
Silver Award Jaydee Dyer – Sky Sports

Broadcast Ones to Watch (off air)

Winner: Sumbal Syed – BBC Sports News
Silver Award: Charlotte Whistlecroft – BBC Sports News
Silver Award: Kate McKenna – BBC Sports News
Silver Award: Joe Lynskey – BBC Sports News

SJA Sports Network of the Year 2019

Winner: talkSPORT

Posted on Tuesday, February 25th, 2020 at 1:10 pm by Lee Price

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories