Radio Harrow wins HBA Station of the Year

Radio Harrow has won the Station of the Year award at the Hospital Broadcasting Association annual awards 2021.

The awards ceremony took place as part of the HBA annual conference, and was held remotely on Saturday 20th March 2021.

Chairman David Reece said about the win: “I am so pleased with what we have been able to accomplish as a station and as a charity. It is an amazing feeling to know that we have been able to do something so positive during such a controversial time.”

Radio Harrow Secretary, Ben Punter added: “I’m massively proud of what our team has achieved these past twelve months, managing to create some amazing, touching, and unique radio. During a time where all shows were broadcast remotely, this win is a true testament to the power of volunteering.”

HBA judges concluded that Radio Harrow’s winning submission was from “a strong and confident station with an entry that showed a great variety of content. It was upbeat, positive, with the right level of information and entertainment.

Rajiv Hasan from Nottingham Hospitals’ Radio and Anna O’Brien from Winchester Radio both take home the gold award in the category of Best Male and Best Female Presenter respectively,

Radio Glamorgan and Hospital Radio Basingstoke take home silver and bronze respectively.

The judges loved the use of family member voices in the gold winning entry from Hospital Radio Medway, who scooped the accolade in the category of Best Speech Package or Special Event. Runners up in this category included Hospital Radio Chelmsford and Radio Tyneside who won silver & gold respectively.

Elsewhere, Hospital Radio Exeter scooped Gold in Best Specialist Music Programme, Hospital Radio Chelmsford won Best Station Promotion, Winchester Radio took home the Recognising Innovation Across Hospital Radio accolade and The John Whitney Award for Outstanding Contribution was awarded to Harrogate Hospital Radio’s Mark Oldfield.

Station of the Year

GOLD – Radio Harrow
SILVER – Radio Glamorgan
BRONZE – Hospital Radio Basingstoke

Best Male Presenter

GOLD – Rajiv Hasan, Nottingham Hospitals’ Radio
SILVER – Ross Coutts – Radio Grapevine
BRONZE – Ross Turnbull – Hospital Broadcasting Service, Glasgow

Best Female Presenter

GOLD – Anna O’Brien, Winchester Radio
SILVER – Shannon Griffin, Hospital Radio Medway
BRONZE – Rebecca Lewis, Radio Brockley

Best Speech Package or Special Event

GOLD – Hospital Radio Medway
SILVER – Hospital Radio Chelmsford
BRONZE – Radio Tyneside

Best Newcomer

GOLD – Andy Houghton, Radio Broadgreen
SILVER – Sophie O’Shea – Radio Redhill
BRONZE – Lindsay Kirk – Hospital Radio Chelmsford

Best Specialist Music Programme

GOLD – Hospital Radio Exeter
SILVER – Radio Hillingdon

Best Station Promotion

GOLD – Hospital Radio Chelmsford
SILVER – Radio Clatterbridge
BRONZE – Hospital Radio Plymouth

Recognising Innovation Across Hospital Radio

WINNER: Winchester Radio

The John Whitney Outstanding Contribution Award

WINNER: Mark Oldfield, Harrogate Hospital Radio

Winning audio, judges comments and more can be found here.

Posted on Sunday, March 28th, 2021 at 7:52 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories