Students love extra awards

The recent National Student Radio Conference saw the launch of a brand new awards ceremony hosted by the Student Radio Association.

The I Love Student Radio Awards aims to recognise outstanding dedication, achievement and innovation in student radio from across the UK.

And whilst many of the most presenters and producers are recognised in the SRA's annual Student Radio Awards ceremony, which takes place every November in London, the new awards recognise stations and members who work behind the scenes.

The SRA received over 50 entries for the I Love Student Radio Awards, which is in its first year, and out of these a shortlist of winners was drawn up by the SRA Executive. Amongst the winners were Radio Caley, who were awarded Most Improved Student Station, Spark FM who were received the Community Spirit award, Radio Sonar who were awarded Outstanding Contribution to Student Radio, and two individual awards for Brett Jenkins (Xtreme Radio) for Most Dedicated Student and Amy Collins (Purple Radio) for Outstanding Contribution to a Student Station.

Secretary of the SRA, Sarah Ghost, said: "The standard was extremely high and we really struggled to pick from an extremely varied yet brilliant bunch. However, whilst it was difficult to pick the winners, we are absolutely delighted that our members realise the benefit of awarding their hardest, most dedicated and innovative peers."

The ceremony also saw the SRA hand out special SRA Hero Awards to those individuals who have assisted the Association and student radio throughout the year. The winners included Matt Garforth (Smoke Radio) for his continued support in the I Love Student Radio Campaign, Scott Robinson (Radio Sonar) for his creation of the I Love Student Radio iPhone app, Matt Proudfoot (Fly FM) for his dedication and hard work on the Student Radio Conference, and to Jannik Gieskam (SubCity Radio) for his incredible success in the Scotland region.

Tim Dye, Chair of the SRA, said: "The SRA always receives an extremely high level of support from its members and from a few key individuals each year. We thought it was about time we honoured them properly and in a way that made everyone aware of their achievements and what they have done for, not only the SRA, but also everyone involved in student radio."

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories