Squeeze to get PPL award

New Wave band Squeeze are to be honoured at next week's Radio Festival with the PPL and Radio Academy Lifetime Achievement Award.

Glenn Tilbrook and Chris Difford will collect the award at the opening reception for the festival on Monday night.

Previous recipients of the award, which recognises outstanding contribution to popular music radio, include Sir Paul McCartney, Roger Daltrey, Gary Barlow and last year's winner Trevor Horn.

The members of Squeeze will be presented with their award by Bob Shennan, controller of BBC Radio 2 and chairman of the Radio Academy at the PPL Party, taking place at The Point, Lancashire County Cricket Ground in Manchester.

Famous for their bittersweet tales of London life and new-wave sound, Squeeze's hits since their debut single in 1977 include 'Cool For Cats', 'Tempted', 'Goodbye Girl' and 'Up The Junction', while they have provided both musical and lyrical inspiration for the likes of Lily Allen, Mark Ronson, Razorlight and The Feeling as well as novelist Nick Hornby.

Squeeze released a new album 'Spot The Difference' this week. Comprising 14 of their best-loved tracks, the band resolved to re-record their old songs using the same techniques and instruments as much as possible.

In November they begin their largest UK tour in over 10 years. Earlier this year, the Greenwich site of their first ever gig was commemorated with a PRS for Music Heritage Plaque.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories