Dedicoat reveals Hospital Radio shortlist

Radio 2’s Head of Presentation and HBA Patron Alan Dedicoat has revealed the nominations for this year’s National Hospital Radio Awards, in a specially recorded New Year’s Day greeting.

Awards Co-Producer Sean Dunderdale said: “We wanted to try something a little different this year, having brought forward the deadline for entries. Usually the shortlist appears in written form but we thought it would be great to get Alan to announce the nominees, enabling stations – if they wish – to run the audio on air.”

Nine of the eleven categories include top ten shortlists, with the John Whitney Award and Fundraiser of the Year open to all, and revealed on the night of the ceremony.

Last year’s Silver Station of the Year Radio Redhill is again nominated in the category, up against previous winners Hospital Radio Plymouth, which has seven nominations in total across the categories, including Best Speech Package, Best Newcomer for volunteer Becky Marlton while it’s Requestline is shortlisted for Best Programme with Multiple Presenters.

Radio Glamorgan comes out on top, with nine nominations in all, including Station of the Year, Best Special Event for it’s programme “Remembering the War”, with two nominations for Best Newcomer as Laura Best and Mark Wright go up against each other for the Gold spot.

Radio Wey’s Andy Brown is short listed, aiming to keep his title of Male Presenter of the Year. His station also scooped Gold last year for Best Promo and is again nominated in that category.

Radio Tyneside’s Geordie Hour will be looking to go one better, having clinched Silver in Best Specialist Music Programme last year. That station is also nominated again in the Best Special Event category which it won Gold for last year for it’s Jubilee Coverage. This time around it’s short listed for it’s broadcast of the Great North Run.

The Bronze, Silver and Gold winners in each category will be revealed at the National Hospital Radio Awards Ceremony, being held in Bristol as part of the HBA’s annual conference at the end of March.

The Nominations in full:

Best Station Promotion:
Coventry Hospital Radio.
Hospital Radio Bedside
Millside Hospital Radio
Nottingham Hospitals Radio
Radio Cherwell
Radio Glamorgan
Radio Stitch
Radio Warneford
Radio Wexham
Radio Wey

Best Specialist Music Programme:
Auckland Hospital Radio – Best of British Classical
Choice Radio – Choice Classics
Harlow Hospital Radio – The Wrecking Crew
Hospital Radio Bedside – In The Chair
Hospital Radio Plymouth – That’s Entertainment
HWD – the Classic Rock Show
Inverness Hospital Radio – Sunday Celidh (kay-lee)
Radio Glamorgan – Graham Canning Rocking n Rolling
Radio Tyneside – The Geordie Hour
Radio Wey – MiTunes (my tunes)

Best Speech Package:
Hospital Radio Bedside – The Hot Seat
Hospital Radio Plymouth – the Mayflower Community Primary School Nutrition Show
Radio Brockley – Royal Visit
Radio Glamorgan – Hospital Harmony
Radio Redhill – The Bluebell Line
Radio Wey – Woking Palace
Rookwood Sound – Mental Health
Sunshine Hospital Radio – The Largest Helicopter Museum In The World
Victoria Radio Network – The Confessions of Gordon Brown
Winchester Hospital Radio – WOW Awards!

Best Special Event:
Choice Radio – Truckfest 2013
Hospital Radio Basingstoke – BBC TV Centre, the Final Tour
Radio Glamorgan – Remembering the War, Insole Court
Radio Redhill – South of England Agricultural Show
Radio Stitch – Anti Bullying Week
Radio Tyneside – Great North Run 2013
Radio Warneford – the Rotary Club Raft Race
Rookwood Sound, 80th Anniversary of Llandough Hospital
Scunthorpe Hospital Radio – Rescue Day
Sunshine Hospital Radio – Thirty Five Years, Thirty Five Songs

Best Newcomer:
Adam Hamilton, Inverness Hospital Radio
Becky Marlton, Hospital Radio Plymouth
Dom Cornfield, Ridgeway Radio
Jamie Boyd-Ratcliff, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Laura Best, Radio Glamorgan
Mark Wright, Radio Glamorgan
Molly Townson, Radio Brockley
Omar Sattaur, Radio Northwick Park
Phin Adams, Bath Hospital Radio
Tom Copley, HWD Hospital Radio

Best Programme with Multiple Presenters:
Harlow Hospital Radio – The Acoustic Show
Hospital Radio Bedside – Off The Wall
Hospital Radio Chelmsford – Tom Austin, Rob Jackson and Charlie Still
Hospital Radio Plymouth – Requestline
Radio Cherwell – Don’t Ask Me
Radio Glamorgan – Nic Clarke and the Daydreamers
Radio Stitch – The Lemon Circus
RBFM – The Breakfast Show
Ridgeway Radio – The Kingfisher Club
Rookwood Sound – Steve and Debbie

Male Presenter of the Year:
Adam Ravenscroft, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Alex Baker, Radio Chelsea and Westminster
Andrew Hill, Hospital Radio Plymouth
Andrew Jones, Radio Glamorgan
Andy Brown, Radio Wey
Ian Pinnell, Radio Cherwell
Ian Wighton, Harrogate Hospital Radio
Peter Phillips, Choice Radio
Rajiv Hasan, Nottingham Hospital’s Radio
Rhodri Buttrick, Hospital Radio Reading

Female Presenter of the Year:
Christine Rowley, Hospital Radio Basingstoke
Ellie Jackson, Harrogate Hospital Radio
Elly Lengthorne, Choice Radio
Gail Hutson, Radio Wey
Kim Lelievre, Hospital Radio Bedside
Lesley Jennings, Rookwood Sound
Liz Nichol, Inverness Hospital Radio
Molly Townson, Radio Brockley
Nita Jhummu, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Rachael Dodd, Hospital Radio Plymouth

Station of the Year:
Choice Radio
Harrogate Hospital Radio
Hospital Radio Basingstoke
Hospital Radio Plymouth
Nottingham Hospital Radio
Radio Brockley
Radio Cherwell
Radio Glamorgan
Radio Redhill
Rookwood Sound

Good luck to all nominees from RadioToday!

Posted on Thursday, January 2nd, 2014 at 1:29 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories