with RCS

Classic FM celebrates 25 years of broadcasting

The station turns 25 on September 7th 2017.

Classic FM is to launch a radio series dedicated to video game music, as part of its 25th birthday celebrations.

The six-week series will start on 22nd April and will run every Saturday from 9pm to 10pm.

The station has also teamed up with the Royal Philharmonic Society to commission six brand new pieces of music by young composers, who were born on or after Classic FM’s first broadcast in 1992.

And on Thursday 7th September, Classic FM’s birthday, a concert will be staged at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, hosted by Bill Turnbull and broadcast live on air. Classic FM’s 25th Birthday Concert with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra will feature repertoire firmly associated with the station – for example, Handel’s Zadok the Priest, which was the first ever piece of music played on Classic FM in 1992, and Bruch’s Violin Concerto No.1, which entered the inaugural Classic FM Hall of Fame at Number 1 in 1997.

Sam Jackson, Classic FM’s managing editor said: “Twenty-five years after we switched on Classic FM’s transmitters, our mission remains the same: to make classical music accessible to as broad an audience as possible, no matter what their age, experience or background. When the launch of the station was announced, many people predicted its demise but, a quarter of a century on, one in 10 adults in the UK now listens to Classic FM each week and our digital reach has cemented our position as the world’s biggest classical music brand.

“Our commissioning of music by young composers and our support for live concerts across the country are two of the ways in which we will continue to showcase the wealth of classical music talent in this country. We are immensely proud to reach 7 million people each week, and we’re very much looking forward to welcoming even more people to Classic FM this year.”

ClassicFM.com has also had a redesign, and is now fully mobile responsive. The website will live-stream a special concert featuring Stravinsky’s Petrushka, The Rite of Spring and The Firebird to mark Sir Simon Rattle’s first season as Music Director of the London Symphony Orchestra (LSO).

You might also like

Comments are closed.