Norton and Garvey up for Academy Awards

The nominations for the Radio Academy Awards 2014 are out – with first time nominations for Graham Norton, Jane Garvey, Scroobius Pip and Guy Garvey.

In the commercial sector, Global Radio leads the way with 30 nominations, whilst talkSPORT is up for Station of the Year along with BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio 4.

At breakfast, nominations for the nation’s most listened to breakfast shows on Radio 1, Radio 2 and the Today Programme on Radio 4 are missing, instead 5 live, Kiss, LBC, BBC London and Capital London are all shortlisted.

There are nominations for Blur’s Alex James, Chris Evans, Nick Ferrari, Jamie Cullum, Victoria Derbyshire, Christian O’Connell, Iain Lee and Becky Milligan, and no less than 23 nominations for the indies.

Breakfast Show of the Year (under 10 million) sees last year’s winners Gem 106’s Sam & Amy bidding to make it two in a row, but not if challengers from Forth One, BBC Radio Ulster, Capital Yorkshire and BBC Three Counties Radio, have anything to do with it.

Musicians have again proved their presenter chops, with Blur’s Alex James, Classic FM, gaining two nominations for Best Music Programme, which includes Jamie Cullum, and Best Entertainment Programme. Elbow’s Guy Garvey (BBC 6 Music) and hip-hop’s Scroobius Pip (XFM London & Manchester) win their first Radio Academy Awards nominations in the category of Music Radio Broadcaster of the Year.

LBC’s 40th birthday celebrations continue with the station’s best ever nominations tally of eight, including the Station of the Year (1 million plus), however BBC Radio Ulster and Metro Radio will be fighting for it. LBC’s success in setting the political agenda is reflected in two nominations for Call Clegg, for Best Speech Programme and Best News & Current Affairs Programme.

Station of the Year (under 1 million) is a three-way between BBC Tees, Moray Firth Radio and National Prison Radio. UK Station of the Year features three past winners, talkSPORT, BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio 4.

Speech Radio Personality of the Year nominees are Phin Adams, an undergraduate from Cambridge University’s CAMFM, Alan Robson, Metro Radio & TFM, Danny Baker, BBC Radio 5 live, Johnny Vaughan, talkSPORT and Nick Ferrari, LBC 97.3.

Also taking on the big guns are Gem 106’s golden duo, Sam & Amy, who are nominated for Music Radio Personality of the Year, competing against BBC Radio 2’s Graham Norton, marking his first Radio Academy Award nomination, perennial gold winner, Chris Evans, Absolute Radio’s Christian O’Connell, who holds the record for gold wins, and multiple gold winners Radcliffe & Maconie for BBC Radio 6 Music.

BBC Radio 4’s Becky Milligan scores an impressive two nominations for National Radio Journalist of the Year and Best Interview of the Year. Woman’s Hour’s Jane Garvey receives her first nomination and is in the hunt for Speech Radio Broadcaster of the Year.

Best Sports Programme and Best Coverage of a Live Event both have entries covering the end of the 77 year wait for a UK male Wimbledon Champion. The AELTC’s Live@Wimbledon Radio, a temporary radio license for the tournament, gets a nod in Best Coverage of a Live Event and BBC Radio 5 live’s The Day We Won Wimbledon is recognised in Best Sports Programme and Best Feature or Documentary.

The nominees for Best Specialist Music Programme read like a radio hall of fame, with David Rodigan proving that KISS’s loss was BBC Radio 1Xtra’s gain, and the station doubled its chance of a win with Mistajam also making the list. Mark Radcliffe’s first year at the helm of BBC Radio 2’s The Folk Show has earned him a nod but BBC Radio 1’s Zane Lowe, and a second nod for XFM’s Scroobius Pip, are also in the mix.

Best Creative Innovation is contested by BBC Playlister, Instream for Absolute Radio, Wise Buddah’s Multi Player Competition Technology, Global Radio’s RadioDNS Hybrid Radio in a Smartphone, and URB’s Responsive Radio and Unified Station Management.

Other 2014 nominees include Frank Skinner for Best Speech Programme, Dermot O’Leary for Best Entertainment Programme, Melvyn Bragg for Speech Radio Broadcaster of the Year, Greg James for Best Entertainment Programme and John Suchet for Best Music Programme.

John Myers, Chairman of The Radio Academy Awards said: “The recent RAJARS have shown that UK radio is indeed enjoying a ‘golden age’, no other medium delivers the audience numbers that radio does. We should all be very proud to be part of such a dynamic and exciting industry. I’m delighted at the standard of entry of this year’s Awards and by the sheer strength in depth of the output up and down the country. It’s also very heartening for the future of the industry to see many new names earn nominations, as well as the veterans continuing to deliver year in, year out.”

Paul Robinson, CEO of The Radio Academy said: “These Awards continue to set the gold standard for the UK radio industry and uniquely embrace everyone, from big established personalities and stations to fresh new talent and local radio stations. The impressive breadth of the Radio Academy Awards Nominations, in every sense, further proves that excellence is being achieved at every level.”

The nominations for the 32nd Radio Academy Awards were announced today via a webcast presented by Radio 2’s Jeremy Vine and Magic’s Angie Greaves.

The winners will be revealed at the Awards Ceremony on 12th May at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, hosted by multiple award-winning presenter Chris Evans.

Need a new or improved logo for your radio station? Visit OhMy.Graphics and see how awesome you can look.
Posted on Wednesday, April 2nd, 2014 at 1:22 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories
buy metformin metformin online