Three top Arqivas for Absolute host OC

Christian O’Connell, host of the Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards, has picked up three top awards himself as part of Absolute Radio’s four wins.
OC was named Presenter of the Year and Breakfast Show of the Year (Over 2m), and also took home the Feature of the Year award for Christian O’Connell’s 40 List. Absolute Radio Sessions also won Radio Station Event of the Year.
Christian also announced this was his last Arqivas as host, after seven years.
Artists, Olly Murs and Ella Eyre performed live at the ceremony, now in their 19th year and organised by RadioCentre.
LBC wasn’t far behind Absolute, which scooped three gongs – for Single Programme or Broadcast of the Year for The Funeral of Margaret Thatcher, the Social Action Initiative Award for Slavery on our Streets and for the second year running, LBC were awarded Station of the Year (over 2m TSA); Metro Radio’s Steve and Karen also picked up Presenter of the Year (under 2m TSA) for the second year running and Metro Radio’s Chris Pegg was awarded the RCS Programmer of the Year.
Station of the Year (under 500,000 TSA) went to Free Radio (Herefordshire & Worcestershire) and Station of the Year (500,000 to 2M TSA) was awarded to Hallam FM.
News Coverage of the Year was won by Clyde 1 for The Clutha Tragedy and Journalist of the Year (Ali Booker Memorial Award) went to Key 103’s Michelle Livesey.
106JACKfm Oxfordshire scooped Specialist Programme of the Year with The Sunday Roast with Caroline; Breakfast Show of the Year (under 2 Million TSA) went to Capital Breakfast with Matt, Polly & Geraint for Capital South Wales and Classic FM’s Emma Oxborrow won the new award for this year, Unsung Hero.
The Marketing Award went to Heart Gloucestershire for their The Kiss at the Kiss with Cheltenham Art Gallery, and the Captial Extra Launch received the Station Imaging Award.
The NRS Media Local Sales Team of the Year went to Global Radio Manchester, with the National Sales Award going to XFM for Begin with a Bulmers. Heinz picked up Advertiser of the Year and Media Agency of the Year went to PHD.
The RadioCentre Chairman’s Award was presented to Dianne Thompson, the Special Award went to Phil Riley, and Grae Allan received the Lifetime Achievement Award.
Siobhan Kenny, Chief Executive of RadioCentre commented: “The fantastic line-up of winners and entries for tonight’s awards, covering a vast range of music, news, features, humour and quirkiness, explains exactly why commercial radio is still where people go for fun, entertainment, music and news.”
Ben Hart, Head of Commercial Radio at Arqiva commented: “Congratulations to all the winners tonight who are all well and truly deserving. Congratulations too if you were nominated – as the years go by I never fail to be impressed by the sheer volume and quality of the entries. Thanks to Radiocentre for again putting on such a fun and stunning evening, it was thoroughly enjoyable – looking forward to next year!”
Click here for the full list of winners.

Need a new or improved logo for your radio station? Visit OhMy.Graphics and see how awesome you can look.
Posted on Thursday, July 3rd, 2014 at 9:38 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories
buy metformin metformin online