Jazz FM Awards 2019 nominations revealed

The nominations for the Jazz FM Awards 2019 have been announced ahead of an evening event at Shoreditch Town Hall on International Jazz Day.

The shortlist includes Sons of Kemet, John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter, Nubya Garcia, Poppy Ajudha, Leon Bridges, Makaya McCraven, Louis Cole, Eric Bibb, and Steam Down Collective amongst the acts.

The Awards recognise the best emerging new artists, contemporary icons and established stars from across the worlds of jazz, soul and blues.

The night, on April 30th, will also feature special performances from a host of celebrated artists, still to be revealed.

Jazz FM’s Head of Music and broadcaster Chris Philips will be hosting the Awards Ceremony with Jez Nelson once again. Of the nominations list this year, Chris said: “This year’s Jazz FM Award nominees list reflects another tremendous year of growth and interest in the music. In particular it’s fantastic to see some of our formerly recognised emerging talent like Nubya Garcia and Shabaka Hutchings sharing nominations with some of the World’s best, testament indeed to a vibrant and strengthening jazz community and industry here in the UK.”

The PPL Lifetime Achievement Award, PRS For Music Gold Award and Impact Award recipients will be announced ahead of the ceremony. Previous winners of these special awards have included the likes of George Benson, Dame Cleo Laine, Quincy Jones, Gregory Porter, Oscar-winning film director Damien Chazelle and the late Hugh Masekela.

Public voting is open now at jazzfmawards.com and will close on Monday 12th March 2019.

The Jazz FM Awards 2019 is a partnership between Jazz FM and Serious and is made possible with the support of PRS for Music, PPL, Shoreditch Town Hall, Mishcon de Reya, Lateralize, Cambridge Audio, British Airways, Arqiva, Oanda, Warsteiner, Savile Row Gin, Denbies and Yamaha UK.

Full list of 2019 nominees:

Breakthrough Act

  • Cassie Kinoshi
  • Emma-Jean Thackray
  • Sarah Tandy

The Digital Award with Oanda

  • Blue Lab Beats
  • Louis Cole
  • Moses Boyd – 1Xtra Residency

The Innovation Award with Mishcon de Reya

  • Orphy Robinson – Freedom Sessions at Vortex
  • Steam Down
  • Tomorrow’s Warriors

Instrumentalist of the Year

  • Camilla George
  • Jean Toussaint
  • Rob Luft

International Jazz Act of the Year with Lateralize

  • Jamie Branch
  • Makaya McCraven
  • Wayne Shorter

Soul Act of the Year

  • José James
  • Leon Bridges
  • Poppy Ajudha

Blues Act of the Year

  • Eric Bibb
  • Errol Linton
  • Roosevelt Collier

Vocalist of the Year

  • Cherise Adams-Burnett
  • Ian Shaw
  • Judi Jackson

UK Jazz Act of the Year (Public Vote) with Cambridge Audio

  • Jason Yarde
  • Joe Armon-Jones
  • Nubya Garcia

Album of the Year (Public Vote) with Arqiva

  • Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams – Vanished Gardens
  • Jean Toussaint Allstar 6Tet – Brother Raymond
  • John Coltrane – Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album
  • Sons of Kemet – Your Queen Is A Reptile
  • Various Artists – We Out Here
  • Wayne Shorter – Emanon

Live Experience of the Year (Public Vote)

  • Jason Moran: The Harlem Hellfighters – Tour
  • Jazz Re:Fest 2018: Brighton Edition
  • Makaya McCraven and Nubya Garcia – EFG London Jazz Festival
  • Orphy Robinson presents Van Morrison’s Astral Weeks – Tour
  • Steam Down featuring Kamasi Washington
  • The Cookers – Church of Sound

Impact Award


PRS Gold Award


PPL Lifetime Achievement Award


Posted on Wednesday, February 13th, 2019 at 11:14 am by Roy Martin

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories
buy metformin metformin online