BBC Audio Drama Awards return for 3rd year

Entries for the BBC Audio Drama Awards open today, marking a third year the awards will celebrate the talent in audio drama.

The awards pay tribute to the cultural importance of audio drama, on air and online, and are intended to give recognition to the actors, writers, producers, sound designers and others who work in the genre.

Following on from last year’s ceremony hosted by David Tennant, the BBC Audio Drama Awards is once again calling for entries from all makers of audio drama, both for the BBC and other broadcasters, analogue, digital and online.

In addition, for the first time, listeners will be able to vote for their favourite audio drama through the Radio Times Readers’ Award.

The BBC is also joining forces for a third time with the Society of Authors and Writers’ Guild of Great Britain to announce and celebrate the winners of this year’s Imison Award for best original radio drama by a writer new to radio, and the Tinniswood Award for best original radio drama script.

Last year’s event saw Andrew Scott take home the award for Best Actor, Michelle Fairley win Best Actress and Murray Gold receive the Tinniswood Radio Drama Award 2013 for Best Radio Drama Script. Among those presenting the awards were Lenny Henry, Maxine Peake, Stephen Mangan, Penelope Wilton and Stephen Tompkinson.

Short-listed entries will be announced on Monday 6 Jan 2014 and the winners revealed at a ceremony to be held on 26 January 2014 in the Radio Theatre at BBC Broadcasting House, London.

This year, the award categories open for nominations are:

Best Original Audio Drama (Single Play)
Best Audio Drama (Series or Serial)
Best Audio Drama (Adaptation)
Best Actor in an Audio Drama
Best Actress in an Audio Drama
Best Supporting Actor in an Audio Drama
Best Supporting Actress in an Audio Drama
Best Use of Sound in an Audio Drama
Best Scripted Comedy Drama (script award)
Best Scripted Comedy with a Live Audience (script award)
Best Online/Non-Broadcast

Helen Boaden, Director of BBC Radio, says: “I am delighted that these inspiring awards will be running for their third year. They celebrate the creativity, range and popularity of a unique genre which we do especially well in this country. This year is likely to be one of the most hotly contested after a period of such strong, top-quality drama. I’m excited to see just which dramas make the shortlist.”

The closing date for submissions is midnight on Friday 11 October 2013. For more information and to download the entry form, click here.

Posted on Tuesday, September 17th, 2013 at 1:01 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories