Honours given out at Academy Gala Dinner

A number of radio people have been honoured at the annual PPL Gala Dinner in Manchester including Radio Festival Chair Chris Burns.

Chris, who is Head of Group Operations at the BBC, was presented with one of four Radio Academy Fellowships along with Lincs FM Group Chief Executive Michael Betton, presenter Sandy Warr and Somethin’ Else MD Steve Ackerman.

Singer Lisa Stansfield also presented the PPL Music Icon Award to singer Mike Rutherford from Mike and the Mechanics.

Hosted by Absolute Radio’s Breakfast Show host Christian O’Connell, the event also saw The John Peel Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music Radio given to Glastonbury founder Michael Eavis, presented by Elbow frontman Guy Garvey.

For the first time, the Local and Regional Lifetime Achievement Award went to the volunteer radio sector, as Radio Tyneside’s Dave Nicholson was honoured for his work by Radio Academy CEO Paul Robinson.

Chris Burns said: “The PPL Gala Dinner is always an exciting night of celebration for the industry. The evening acknowledges those people who have shone continuously in their chosen medium and who have brought fascinating and inspiring content to audiences.

“It also gives the radio industry the chance to recognise and thank individuals who have had a major impact on the music scene in many different ways.”

Posted on Tuesday, October 15th, 2013 at 10:30 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories