Latest Radio Academy 30 under 30 revealed

The Radio Academy has announced the 30 Under 30 ‘class of 2013’ – 30 of the most exceptional young professionals under the age of 30 throughout the radio industry.

The 30 Under 30 initiative recognises the brightest upcoming talent working in all sectors of UK Radio.

The Radio Academy says the final list highlights individuals who are not just doing their job, but doing it brilliantly across a wide range of skills including finance, sales, production, operations, support and administration and presenting.

The 30 are drawn from commercial, BBC, community radio and, for the first time, prison radio.

The group of 30 will get a free ticket at this year’s Radio Festival, with access to senior industry figures at an exclusive reception.

Five of those involved also have the opportunity to interview their own radio heroes in sessions with inspirational figures including Barbara Slater, Mary Anne Hobbs, James Rea, Karen Stacey and Gwyneth Williams.

Paul Robinson, Chief Executive of The Radio Academy who also chaired the judging panel, said: “This is our third year of searching for the brightest and most talented 30 people under 30 years of age working in the radio industry and we have not been disappointed.

“We received a record number of entries and this year the standard has shot up. Those who have made the list really are exceptional. Every one of the 30 has shown expertise, energy, dedication, innovation, sheer brilliance, creativity and above all extraordinary achievement in this wonderful medium.

“The class of 2013 is nothing short of stunning and I am looking forward to engaging with every one of them at the Radio Festival, which is dedicated to supporting new talent and this year offers unique networking opportunities and access to radio’s most influential people.”

The full list:-

Caroline Allen – LBC 97.3

B. Traits – BBC Radio 1

Emma Barnett – LBC 97.3, BBC Radio 4, The Telegraph

Aylissa Boyce – Northsound 1

Steven Childs – Lincs FM

Alistair Cockburn – Classic FM

Ben Day – Quidem Radio

Tim Dye – BBC Radio 2 & 6 Music

Mark Farrington – Global Radio

Joe Friel – Folder Media

James Hamilton – BBC

Ashley Jeary – Radio Exe

Steve Jones – BBC Radio 5 live

Eleanor Kiff – BBC Radio 2

Kate Lamble – Freelance

Ben Lawrence – Mixcloud

Gemma Liversidge – Real & Smooth Radio

Eleanor Marshall – Absolute Radio

Andrew Murray – Radio Forth

Catrin Nye – BBC Asian Network

Jacob Rickard – BBC

Vicky Rouse – Prison Radio Association

David Salt – Orion Media

Andrew Simmons – KISS

Adam Venton – UKRD Group

Jonathan Wellbelove – Somethin’ Else

Rachael White – Bauer Media

Jen Whyntie – BBC

Adam Wilbourn – Orion Media

Will Wilkin – BBC Radio Oxford


Screenshot 2013-10-07 15.56.55Screenshot 2013-10-07 15.56.46 Screenshot 2013-10-07 15.56.34 Screenshot 2013-10-07 15.56.23Screenshot 2013-10-07 15.56.34Screenshot 2013-10-07 15.56.46

Posted on Monday, October 7th, 2013 at 3:48 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories